Nantes - Naonad

The city of Nantes and the Loire-Atlantique Department were formerly part of the historic province of Brittany and Nantes along with Rennes was one of its traditional capitals. Historically, the country around Nantes was always seen as being part of Brittany. In 1207 the Dukes of Brittany lived in Nantes. Most of the dukes and duchesses were buried in the cathedral or the adjacent abbeys.

In 1789, the separation of the separation of the provinces of France resulted in Brittany being split in five; the lower of the five, in which Nantes is situated, being Loire-Atlantique. Loire-Atlantique was itself split from the other four departments by the Vichy regime in 1941; a new region had been created centred on Nantes called the Pays de la Loire. However, Loire-Atlantique is culturally, historically and geographically united to Brittany. There continues to be active campaigns for the reunification of Brittany.

Returning to Rennes

We are now on our way back to Rennes where our tour of Brittany started. Leaving Nantes and traveling north along the D178 to Chateaubriant and on to Martigne-Ferchaud. Then northwest along the D94 and D41 toward Janze. North of Retiers on a minor road half way to Esse is the megalithic monument of La Roche-aux-Fees.

La Roche-aux-Fees

In the east of Brittany. This is the largest megalithic monument in the region. La Roche-aux-Fees is between Martigne-Ferchaud and Janze. Having been once covered with earth, this tumulis has 42 large stones, which are now above ground level. It stands at about two metres high, five metres wide and twenty metres long. The southeast facing entrance points to the winter solstice sunrise.

Celtic nation:


Place type: