Liskeard - Lys Kerwyd

Liskeard (Lys Kerwyd) is located northwest from Rame Head. Return from Rame Head to the A374 and then on to the A38. It is an ancient market town and stannary. After the Conquest a Norman castle was built here but there are no longer visible remains. The town remains an important market town with vibrant shopping facilities and in the past was an important centre for the tin mining industry. Within the town is St. Martin's church, which was built on the site of a former Norman church and the oldest parts of the current structure date back to the 15th century.

Other significant buildings in the town include Foresters Hall on Pike Street, which now houses the Tourist Information Office and Liskeard and District Museum. Stuart House, Barras Street was used by Charles 1 as lodging in 1644. It is now used as a community building for arts and community events. It also houses a permanent Civil war Exhibition. Other information on places of interest in the town and surrounding area can be obtained at the Tourist information Office at Foresters Hall, Pike Street. Tel: 01579 349148 (email: The town is on the main rail line between Plymouth and Penzance and Liskeard Station is the junction for the Looe Valley line. Liskeard is situated at the head of the Looe Valley.

Celtic nation:


Place type: